16 Oct, 2019

Langiewicza Street

Ulica Mariana Langiewicza runs between the streets Filtrowa, Wawelska, Topolowa (today Al.Niepodleglości) and Sucha (today Krzywickiego). A colony of houses was established there. Some houses replicated the Polish land manors with their distinctive architectural elements – porticos supported by columns topped with triangular gables, charming sloping roofs, beautifully curved staircases covered with rich panelling, and palace floors with gorgeous patterns.

 

At that time, representatives of the intelligentsia and political life lived there. No 12, for instance, belonged to one of the greatest railway engineers in Poland, Julian Eberhardt, while No 13 was owned by one of the founders of Kolonia Staszica – the architect Antoni Dygat (father of writer Stanisław), at No 15 lived Stanisław Wojciechowski – President of the Republic of Poland between 1922 and 1926, and at No 25 lived eminent sociologist, Professor Ludwik Krzywicki. Those are just a few of the most prominent representatives of the top elite that lived here.

It is also interesting to note that right around the corner, at Sedziowska Street No 2, Władysław Szpilman, a well-known musician and composer of Jewish origin, like Robinson Crusoe sought shelter in the ruins of Warsaw, totally destroyed at that time by the Nazis after the end of Warsaw Uprising of 1944.

 

 

 

Mały Belweder ROK 1970 Źródło: Zdjecie Własne
"Little Belvedere" 1970 years

 


Scroll to top